Posted by: Andries Louw | 29 April 2009

Four mind-switching hours about church multiplication

I rate the past 2 nights’ church planting sessions with David Watson as 4 of the most mind-switching hours in my life… seriously. I wrote this tweet (a twitter post, in case you didn’t know) on Friday. You can follow my tweets here. On Thursday I started following David on twitter. I can highly recommend it. Here are a few good ones as an example:

Spent afternoon talking about the difference in selecting people to start a church and planting the Gospel into social unit to start church

Most think you start a church by gathering people from various social groups to form a new social group called a church. NOT.

You start a church by introducting the Gospel into existing social units when God will use it to redeem what is already there.

44“No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him, and I will raise him up at the last day. 45It is written in the Prophets: ‘They will all be taught by God.’[a] Everyone who listens to the Father and learns from him comes to me.

21“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ 23Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

It ends with the parable of the house on the rock vs the house on the sand, the house on the rock being “everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice”.

I will need to write quite a lot more to try and process the input I have been receiving over the past few months. It includes a week-end of training by David Broodryk from Midrand, South Africa who is being mentored by David Watson and a day seminar by Neil Cole (USA) about simple / organic church.

One of the golden threads through all of these sessions was that I shouldn’t educate myself beyond my obedience. That is a fine line to tread, but one that makes sense. I have started to put some of the basics into practice but still have a long way to go. That is one of the reasons why I have lately been blogging less frequently. I need more time to change my lifestyle!

If you want to learn more about what David Watson and his associates teach, please work through the following on-line resources. That way you will get it from the horse’s mouth:

Also watch David Broodryk’s Kingdom People website for upcoming missional discipleship & church planting training in South Africa. Click here to subscribe to his discipleship news email list.

Responses

  1. Thanks for this post, Andries. Blessings to you on your ministry in South Africa!

  2. Dankie – jy maak my lus. Ek sit nou juis in ‘n nuwe land en moet ‘n nuwe kerk vind/join/begin

  3. Have you read any of the books of Roland Allen?

    David Watson’s ideas sound (from your description) rather similar. See my post on Nevius, Allen, Kasatkin. There are lots of ideas there, along with those of Watson, that are worth discussing. Whether anyone will put them into practice is another matter.

  4. Thanks for dropping in Phillip. Where are you from and what are you doing?

    Ferdi, ek’s bly ek maak jou lus 🙂 My voorstel is neem genoeg tyd om ordentlik deur al David se materiaal op die web te werk. ‘n Goeie plek om te begin is dalk sy goed oor Induktiewe Bybelstudies. Begin daarmee in jou eie gesin. Ek skryf nou ook vir jou ‘n epos met meer besonderhede. Lekker bly in julle nuwe land!

    Steve, thanks for the reference to Roland Allen. I haven’t heard about him. I want to take some time in the next few weeks to work through Watson’s on-line material with the intention of implementing these principles. According to Watson a lot of people around the world have implemented them and are still doing it.

  5. Your post really made me think very deeply. Especially the part abot the person of peace. I have often found that people attend the home-church because they are looking for fellowship, but they are not committed to learn and grow. They are lonely and are looking for some company. It is also sometimes a case of not really being teachable. It often feels that you need to pull these guys into a time of worship and teaching. How would one handle this? Is the answer not in the commitment of hte person and the fact that we need to start with willing hearts that want to be discipled?

    I will have to ponder this some more….

  6. Andries,

    I think Roland Allen had a similar effect on me to that which David Watson seems to have had on you. I strongly recommend that you read his Missionary methods: St Paul’s or ours

  7. Congratulations Francois, you have left the 100th comment on my blog! The person-of-peace principle is definitely also the one that causes me to think most… and the more I think about it the more it makes sense. If your goal is to make disciples then you want to focus on people who want to follow Jesus. If your goal is to carry the burdens of everbody that crosses your path, you will soon face the reality that your capacity for maintaining meaningful relationships is limited. Of course your capacity for maintaining meaningful relationships is always limited, which is precisely why it’s a better idea to reserve your quality-and-quantity-time for those people who show the most potential for discipling others.

    Steve, thanks for the recommendation. I read your post about Nevius, Allen, Kasatkin. LOL, I like your remark “We think that by talking about things we can actually change them but we often fail to change the world, and all we succeed in changing is our terminology.” Very true!

    I often grapple with the question: Why do I want to write / talk about something? My current thinking is that the only reason why any topic is worth discussing, is if it can help me change / shape my thinking in order to change / shape my behaviour towards greater obedience to Christ in order to significantly change the world.

    My personal goal for the next few weeks and months is to prayerfully work through David Watson’s on-line resources, process it and start discipling someone.

  8. Hallo Andries
    onlangs eers blootgestel aan dlw, via bokkie claassen. elektronies nog bietjie gestrem. hoe plan jy om dlw se materiaal te gebruik? grte, andre

  9. Andre, ek probeer maar om soveel as moontlik van die materiaal op sy blogs te lees (skakels in my post hierbo). Ek gesels ook van tyd tot tyd met David Broodryk oor strategie en het begin om Alexandra ‘n bietjie te leer ken en vir die mense daar te bid.

  10. Dries. Ek en Suret wil kom kuier, sommer so bietjie ou vriendsap versterk en bietjie oor dissipelskap te praat.

  11. Heinrich, dit sal lekker wees. Ek sal vir jou ‘n elektroniese brief in die pos gooi.

  12. Andries, jy noem hier ‘n ding waarmee ek ook al lank gesukkel het en al meer klarigheid kry… die enigste manier om regtig die Bybel te verstaan, is om God te gehoorsaam. Dis deur gehoorsaamheid dat ons geestelik groei en dis deur die Woord uit te leef dat ons dit begin verstaan. Dit was vir lank my struikelblok dat ek dinge eers wou uitredeneer en verstaan voordat ek dit wou doen. Maar dan word dit te maklik kopkennis sonder enige geestelike groei.


Leave a Reply

Categories

